Great Indian Women Scientist Behind ISRO’s Lunar Mission

The Chandrayaan-3 mission is India’s third lunar mission. The first mission, Chandrayaan-1, was launched in 2008. It orbited the Moon for 10 months and made several important discoveries, including the presence of water ice on the lunar surface. The second mission, Chandrayaan-2, was launched in 2019. It was attempting to land a lander and rover on the Moon, but the lander failed to land successfully.

The launch of Chandrayaan-3 was a major success for India’s space program. It is a testament to the hard work and dedication of the scientists and engineers at ISRO. The mission is a symbol of India’s growing technological prowess and its ambition to become a major player in the global space race.

Women make up about 30% of the ISRO workforce, and they are represented in all levels of the organization, including leadership positions.These are just a few of the many women scientists who have contributed to the successful launch of Chandrayaan-3. Their hard work and dedication is an inspiration to us all.

Ritu Karidhal (Mission Director)

Ritu Karidhal is an Indian aerospace scientist and the Mission Director of Chandrayaan-3, India’s third lunar mission. She is known as India’s “rocket woman”. She was born in Lucknow, India in 1976 and graduated from the Indian Institute of Science (IISc) in Bangalore with a Master of Engineering degree in Aerospace Engineering in 1997.

Ritu Karidhal has worked on several major ISRO missions, including the Mars Orbiter Mission (Mangalyaan), the Chandrayaan-2 mission, and the Aditya-L1 mission. She was the Deputy Operations Director for Mangalyaan and the Mission Director for Chandrayaan-2. She is currently the Mission Director for Chandrayaan-3.

She is an inspiration to many young women who aspire to a career in science and technology and is an example of what can be achieved when women are given the opportunity to reach their full potential.

Anuradha T.K

Anuradha T.K. is an Indian scientist and a retired Project Director at the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). She is known for her work on communication satellites and is the first woman to become a satellite project director at ISRO.

Anuradha T.K. has worked on several major ISRO missions, including the GSAT-10 and GSAT-12 satellites. She was the Project Director for the GSAT-12 satellite, which was launched in 2011. She was also the Deputy Project Director for the GSAT-10 satellite, which was launched in 2012.She retired from ISRO in 2017 but continues to work as a consultant. She is also a mentor to young women who are interested in a career in space science.

N. Valarmathi

N. Valarmathi is an Indian scientist and the former Project Director of RISAT-1, India’s first indigenously-developed Radar Imaging Satellite. She is the first person to receive the Abdul Kalam Award, instituted by the Government of Tamil Nadu in honour of the former president Abdul Kalam in 2015.

N. Valarmathi has worked on several major ISRO missions, including the INSAT-2A, IRS-IC, IRS-ID, and TES satellites. She was the Project Director for the RISAT-1 satellite, which was launched in 2012. RISAT-1 is a multi-mode radar imaging satellite that is used for a variety of applications, including disaster management, agriculture, and environmental monitoring. She retired from ISRO in 2021 but continues to work as a consultant.

Mangala Mani

Mangala Mani is an Indian scientist and engineer who was the only woman in a 23-member team that spent 403 days at India’s research station in Antarctica. She is the first woman scientist from ISRO to spend more than a year in Antarctica.

Mangala Mani has worked on a variety of projects at ISRO, including the Chandrayaan-1 and Chandrayaan-2 missions. She is an expert in satellite communications and ground stations.

Krithi Faujdar

Krithi Faujdar is an Indian computer scientist who works as a scientist/engineer at the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). She has been with ISRO since 2013 and works at the Master Control Facility (MCF).

Krithi Faujdar has been working on several important projects at ISRO since the beginning of her career. She has played a key role in monitoring ISRO’s geostationary satellites such as INSAT, GSAT, and IRNSS. She also worked on the Chandrayaan-2 mission, where she played a key role in the mission control system.

Krithi Faujdar is a talented computer scientist and has won several awards for her hard work and dedication. She has been awarded the ISRO Young Scientist Award and the ISRO Team Award.

Sumann Senguptaa

Learn More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *